ISPLS

Members

Becoming a member of the Idaho Society of Professional Land Surveyors has its perks. Members:

  • Receive our award-winning magazine Gem State Surveyor several times a year
  • Qualify for significant discounts on conference registration and training fees
  • Are kept up-to-date on significant events and developments in the survey community through regular emails
  • Speak as one voice to our elected officials, local, state and federal, to address issues affecting our profession. You can attend our annual Legislative Reception where you mingle with state elected officials and you will receive regular legislative updates during the legislative session
  • Support the efforts of the society to advance the science of land surveying;
  • Contribute to the education of the public in the use of surveys, maps and records
  • Encourage and support students (see our Scholarship page) who are the future of our profession
  • Members of the Society are invited to attend quarterly board meetings and to participate locally at the Regional Section level. We encourage our members to become active in many of the programs that we sponsor from Trig-Star to Survey USA.

Annual membership runs for the calendar year.

Join

ISPLS

Honors

Honoring the Leaders of our Profession

One of the objectives of the ISPLS is to “honor the leaders in the science of surveying.” We do this by offering annual awards for Surveyor of the Year; Distinguished Service Award; Friend of Society and Special Recognition.

Criteria for Nomination and Selection of Honorees
Award for distinguished service to the land surveying profession

(a) A nomination for the Distinguished Service to the Land Surveying Profession Award shall be presented to the Board prior to the December meeting of the Board.

(b) A record and biographical sketch in writing shall accompany the nomination.

(c) The Board shall not take action on such nominations prior to the December meeting.

(d) The Distinguished Service Award shall be awarded only when the Board feels that such award is justified.

(e) The following minimum requirements must be met to qualify for the Distinguished Service Award:

  • Be a Registered Land Surveyor.
  • Be a member of the Idaho Society of Land Surveyors.
  • Have been in practice as an RLS for at least ten (10) years.
  • Have a history for maintaining a high degree of competence.
  • Have a history and reputation for maintaining a high degree of integrity.
  • Have made substantial contributions to the advancement of the profession.
  • Have shared knowledge and information with fellow professionals.
  • Have assisted qualified and interested people in advancement within the profession.
  • Have performed a survey or a series of surveys which are challenging in one of the following ways:
    • In difficult topography.
    • Of unusual difficulty.
    • In the face of public or private opposition.
    • Various requirements may be waived for one of the following reasons: Lifelong service to the profession. Eminence of a regional or national level. Performance of an act or service bringing widespread public acclaim to the profession
Distinguished Service Nomination Form
Surveyor of the Year award

(a) Nomination for the Surveyor of the Year Award shall be presented to the Board prior to the November meeting of the Board.

(b) A record and biographical sketch in writing shall accompany the nomination. Said record shall include, but not be limited to, the following information:

  • Membership in professional and technical Societys or societies.
  • Awards or Honors.
  • Membership, participation and service in the Idaho Society of Land Surveyors.
  • Public Service.

(c) The recipient of the Surveyor of the Year Award shall be selected from the nominees by the Board prior to the annual meeting.

Surveyor of the Year Nomination Form
Friend of the Society

The Idaho Society of Professional Land Surveyors seeks to honor individuals whose works has consistently and significantly contributed to the profession of land surveying and/or the benefit of the society.

Nominations shall be submitted to the Board prior to the fall Board meeting.
The ISPLS Board of Directors will select the recipient prior to the annual meeting.

Friend of Society Nomination Form

Board of Directors

Jeremy Fielding

President
Eagle Land Surveying
pls12220@yahoo.com

Aaron Ballard

Vice-President
KM Engineering
aballard@kmengllp.com

Coy Chapman

Past-President
Epoch Land Surveying
coy@epochls.com

Steve Frisbie

Treasurer
T-O Engineers
sfrisbie@to-engineers.com

Hagen Beckstead

GSS Editor
Foresight Surveying
hagen@foresightsurvey.com

Glenn Bennett

IBPEPLS Liason
Civil Survey Consultants, Inc.
elkwatcher@outlook.com

Robert Liimakka

State CST Coordinator
Idaho State University
liimrobe@isu.edu

Joe Jones

QBS Representative
Sawtooth Land Surveying
joe@sawtoothls.com

Tom Judge

IBPEPLS Liasion
tjudge@forsgren.com

Adam Thayer

Young Surveyor Rep
Dipotra
adam@dioptrageomatics.com

Stewart Ward

NSPS Representative
Dioptra Geomatics, Inc
stewart@dioptrageomatics.com

Section Directors

John Elle

Eastern Section Director
A&E Engineering
elle@ae-eng.com

Tyson Glahe

David Thompson Director
Glahe & Associates, Inc.
tglahe@glaheinc.com

Chris Harmison

Magic Valley Section Director
EHM Engineers, Inc.
charmison@ehminc.com

Jerry Hastings

SW Section Director
Ada County Development Services
jhastings@adaweb.net

Bruce Smith

Bigwood Director
Alpine Enterprises Inc.
bsmith@alpineenterprisesinc.com

Robert Stratton

Northern Section Director
Stratton Land Surveying
rob@strattonls.com

Staff

Liz Conner

Executive Director/Secretary
ISPLS
208-658-9970
conner@3C-Solution.com

Jaclyn Brandt

Executive Director/Secretary
ISPLS
208-658-9970
jaclyn@polarisdigitalmedia.com

Contact Us

Name
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Mailing Address:

PO Box 7886
Boise, ID 83707

Phone:

208-658-9970

Email:

info@idahospls.org